Catapults
events

Virtual Wind III: Challenges in the North Sea

Website visit Address Virtual Event Start November 18, 2020 - 8:15 am End November 18, 2020 -3:00 pm

Join ORE Catapult with Fraunhofer IWES for the VirtualWind III online conference to discuss challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea.

About this Event

ORE Catapult is teaming up with Fraunhofer IWES, to host the VirtualWind III online conference focusing on the current challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea. With sessions on electrical infrastructure and floating offshore wind, join us on the 18th of November to hear from a wide range of experts.

 

Preliminary Agenda

Event timings are in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) / Central European Time (MEZ)

8.15 a.m.(GMT) / 9.15 a.m. (MEZ)

Welcome: Prof. Andreas Reuter, Managing Director, Fraunhofer IWES and Andrew Jamieson, Chief Executive, ORE Catapult

Keynote: EU’s offshore strategy – Giles Dickson, Chief Executive Officer, WindEurope

Block I: Electrical infrastructure

Chaired by Christian Broer, Head of Department Validation and Reliability, Fraunhofer IWES

09:00 a.m. (GMT) / 10:00 a.m. (MEZ)

“A review of regulatory arrangements for offshore networks” – Dr. Callum MacIver, University of Strathclyde

09.30 a.m. (GMT) / 10:30 a.m. (MEZ)

“Trends in grid integration of offshore & onshore wind” – Aris Gkountaras, Key Expert Renewable Power Plants & Grid Markets, Siemans Gamesa Renewable Energy

10.00 a.m. (GMT) / 11:00 a.m. (MEZ)

“Necessities of electrical tests on test benches from the perspective of the industry“ – Christian Fenselau, Chief Specialist Test and Validation, Vestas Nacelles Deutschland GmbH

10:30 a.m. (GMT) / 11:30 a.m. (MEZ)

“Current determination of electrical properties of wind turbines on test stands and outlook on future grid requirements“ – Torben Jersch, Head of Department System Technology, Fraunhofer IWES

11:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. (GMT) / 12:39-1:00 p.m. (MEZ) – Break

Block II: Floating Offshore Wind (FOW)

Chaired by Paul McKeever, Head of Strategic Research, ORE Catapult

12:00 p.m. (GMT) / 1:00 p.m. (MEZ)

“Dynamic Cabling – The challenges unique to FOW“ – Roberts Proskovics, Team Leader – Turbines, ORE Catapult

12:45 p.m. (GMT) / 1:45 p.m. (MEZ)

“The SETWIND lighthouse initiative” – John Olav Tande, Chief Scientist, SINTEF Energy Research

1:30 p.m. (GMT) / 2:30 p.m. (MEZ)

“Experience in the design optimization and analysis of global system dynamics of FOW“ – Mareike Leimeister, Research Associate Division System Technology, Fraunhofer IWES

2:15 p.m. (GMT) / 3.15 p.m. (MEZ)

End

 

At the end of each presentation you will have the opportunity to ask questions to the speakers.

 

Please note that this session will be recorded.

 

Please click here to register your place.